Social Networking – Why Organizations want it and why Employees cannot Adopt it

I have worked in the healthcare and construction sector and my companies did not use ESNs. Nevertheless, they had difficulties of their own and yes there were most definitely days on which I cribbed and complained but, these complex difficulties are what made it challenging and interesting for me. They gave me great experience and I loved my work. Socializing in my companies was mostly traditional; face to face, verbal or email. The concept of ESNs was not really present. Sure employees did use external ESNs like facebook, twitter etc. but nothing internally.

The reasons for this could be many – the culture of the companies, cost and lack of knowledge of ESNs, generation differences of the leadership.. Who knows?

Actually come to think of it, I was sort of acting as a human ESN in a small way by updating  employees about things happening in employees lives, celebrations, town halls etc. (Huh.. maybe this could be another topic to blog on 😉 )

Point of all this being – At this point (i.e. blog 1 for 430) my wonderful organizations are not what I am going to blog about.

As a part of 430, through class discussions, course material and the Danone case I am getting interested in the Whys? And Hows? Of ESN

  1. Why and for what do organizations needs ESNs? Why employees resist? How to get across to the employees and find benefit in it for all involved? So, as a newbee to the concepts of ESNs in the context of organizational learning and socializing I want to explore –
  2. Why ESNs are needed in Organizations? – Sure as HR I technically understand why but, I would like to explore the extent to which they can actually be useful in organizations.
  3. Reasons for peoples’ resistance in adapting ESNs

When it comes to technology there are many reasons why people may show resistance or hesitance. As of now I have a few assumptions regarding this and a few reasons that come to my mind are –

– Fear/psychological safety, lack of interest, lack of knowledge, generational differences, mindset (performance vs learning), trust, environment, personality factors like -extrovert vs introvert (MBTI).

Many fellow MSLOCers like @Fern Tham 2015 and @Alex Heisel 2015 have also touched on and investigated some of these reasons for resistance. Thanks for the ?????

To explore this I would probably have to study a few organizations where ESNs are used. I need to to understand what made them successful or fail. And ask questions like – How they were used? What kind of involvement did leaders have in them and how was the ESN monitered – Light handed or Policed? What areas were they used in? Who initiated them – employees or management?

I think it would help me understand what helped the employees adapt this change successfully.

  • Is it the culture or leadership?
  • Does it lead to Learning and Development or Organizational Change?

I know tooo many questions right but, I will keep you posted as to which road my journey leads me to.

So, if you have any case examples or suggestions please feel free to post a comment and Hyylllpppp 😀

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

